FIFA World Cup Qualifying: CONCACAF hexagonal standings, schedule, scores

9 Jun

The road to Russia for the 2018 FIFA World Cup began for the CONCACAF region back in March of 2015. Now there are six teams left fighting for three direct spots and one playoff qualification spot for next year’s World Cup.

Here’s everything you need to know about the fifth and final round of the CONCACAF FIFA World Cup qualification process.


Known as “The Hex,” the six-team group sees each team play each other twice for a total of 10 matches. The top three teams automatically qualify for the World Cup, while the fourth-place team plays in a two-game playoff.



Friday, Nov. 11

Panama 1, Honduras 0
Costa Rica 2, Trinidad and Tobago 0
Mexico 2, United States 1

Tuesday, Nov. 15

Honduras 3, Trinidad and Tobago 0
Panama 0, Mexico 0
Costa Rica 4, United States 0

Friday, March 24

Mexico 2, Costa Rica 0
Trinidad and Tobago 1, Panama 0  
United States 6, Honduras 0

Tuesday, March 28

Honduras 1, Costa Rica 1
Panama 1, United States 1
Mexico 1, Trinidad and Tobago 0

Wednesday, June 8

Costa Rica 0, Panama 0
Mexico 3, Honduras 0
United States 2, Trinidad and Tobago 0

Sunday, June 11

Mexico vs. United States (played on this date due to Mexico’s participation in Confederations Cup)

Monday, June 13

Panama vs. Honduras
Costa Rica vs. Trinidad and Tobago

Friday, Sept. 1

United States vs. Costa Rica
Mexico vs. Panama
Trinidad and Tobago vs. Honduras

Tuesday, Sept. 5

Honduras vs. United States
Panama vs. Trinidad and Tobago
Costa Rica vs. Mexico

Friday, Oct. 6

United States vs. Panama
Costa Rica vs. Honduras
Mexico vs. Trinidad and Tobago

Tuesday, Oct. 10

Trinidad and Tobago vs. United States
Panama vs. Costa Rica
Honduras vs. Mexico

FIFA playoff round

The team that finishes in fourth place will face the fifth-place team from AFC over two legs on November 6 and 14. The winner advances to the World Cup.

For news, stories, results and more, follow us:


No comments yet

Leave a Reply